Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs depends on the amount of controlled substance in a person’s body. Driving under influence (DUI) refers to operating a motor vehicle while drunk or high.
What Is the Legal Limit in Nevada?
The blood alcohol content (BAC) level for drivers in Nevada is 0.08 percent. A BAC level is a measurement of the amount of alcohol in a person’s blood. If a person has a BAC level above the legal limit while driving a vehicle, then they are guilty of driving under the influence.
Does the 0.08 Percent Legal Limit Apply to Teenage Drivers in Nevada?
No. Nevada has a different legal limit for drivers under 21 years old, which is the age of legal consumption of alcohol in the state. The legal BAC limit for anyone under 21, and thus unable to legally consume alcohol, is 0.02 percent.
What Is the Legal Limit for Truck Drivers in Nevada?
The legal limit for commercial drivers is 0.04 percent. The lower legal limit only applies to truck drivers while they are operating commercial vehicles.
What Is Driving Under the Influence of a Controlled Substance in Nevada?
Driving under the influence of a controlled substance refers to being under the influence of drugs while operating a motor vehicle. The drugs may be anything from known narcotics such as cocaine to prescription drugs such as morphine.
What Is the Legal Limit for Driving Under the Influence of a Controlled Substance?
Driving under the influence of a controlled substance does not have a “legal limit” that applies to all drugs, but an allowable amount for each drug. For example, the allowable amount for amphetamine is 500 nanograms per milliliter in urine and 100 nanograms per milliliter in blood.
Can I Be Arrested If I Ingested Too Much of My Prescription Medication?
Yes. In Nevada, a person can be charged with being under the influence of their prescription drug while operating a motor vehicle. The amount of the prescription drug must have an adverse effect and impair the person’s ability to operate a motor vehicle.
Why Was I Arrested When I Only Took Over-The-Counter Medication?
Nevada also considers having too much over-the-counter medication a driving under the influence crime because a person’s driving is impaired.
What Are the Possible Penalties of a DUI in Nevada?
The possible penalties depend on the offense and can include:
- Jail or prison time
- Driving school
- Attending a Victim Impact Panel
- Interlock device installed on vehicle
Can an Attorney Help Me?
A DUI conviction can be expensive and seriously impact your life by taking away your ability to drive. If you are charged with any type of DUI, contact a Nevada DUI/DWI lawyer immediately.