The legal alcohol limit for commercial drivers in Nevada is a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.04 percent. For all other drivers over the age of 21, it is 0.08 percent. In Nevada, whether a person is guilty of driving under the influence (DUI) is based on two criteria: operating the motor vehicle and being at or surpassing the legal BAC level limit.
What Is the Penalty for a Commercial DUI in Nevada?
The penalty for a first offense commercial DUI is:
- Two days to six months in county jail
- 96 hours of community service
- $1,000 fine
- 90-day suspension of a person’s non-commercial driver’s license
Will I Face a Harsher Penalty If Someone Dies as a Result of My DUI in Nevada?
Yes. The state may charge a person with committing a commercial DUI involving either a death or serious injury to a victim. This is a category B felony.
What Is the Punishment for a Commercial DUI with Injury or Death?
The punishment for a conviction of commercial DUI with death or injury is:
- Two to 20 years in state prison
- $5,000 fine
- Either a driver’s license suspension or revocation of their non-commercial driving privileges
Are There Any Aggravating Factors?
Yes. If the victim is being transported by the drunk driver and is under 15 years old, then the defendant will face a harsher punishment.
Should I Contact a Lawyer about My Case?
Having legal counsel can mean the difference between a lengthy prison sentence and a relatively light punishment. Thus, it is vital to contact a Nevada DUI/DWI lawyer to learn more about your case and potential legal strategies.