Driving while under the influence (DUI) is operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs and/alcohol. A DUI in Nevada occurs when a person has physical control of a vehicle and their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level is at or above 0.08 percent. This crime can be an additional charge that a person may face when they are also accused of fleeing the scene of an accident if they were drink or high when they fled the scene.

What Is Fleeing the Scene of an Accident in Nevada?

Fleeing the scene of an accident in Nevada is called hit-and-run. The crime occurs when a person is involved in an accident. Instead of calling police or notifying an owner of property damage, they leave the scene. A person can be charged with misdemeanor hit-and-run. If they cause death or bodily injury to a victim, then the hit-and-run is a felony.

What Is Felony DUI Hit-and-Run in Nevada?

Felony DUI hit-and-run is being in physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. While driving drunk, the person causes an accident. During that accident, a victim suffers serious bodily injury or dies.

What Is Serious Bodily Injury?

Serious bodily injury is a physical injury that takes a short period of time to recover from. This includes injuries such as a broken leg.

Can I Face Any Additional Charges Related to a DUI Hit-and-Run in Nevada?

Yes. A person accused of the separate crimes of DUI and hit-and-run may also face criminal charges for:

  • Reckless driving
  • Vehicular homicide
  • Causing serious bodily injury

What Kind of Punishment Will I Face for a Felony Hit-and-Run?

If a person is convicted of injuring or killing someone while committing a hit-and-run, they are convicted of a category B felony. Once convicted of this felony, a person can be sentenced to:

  • Eight to 20 years in prison
  • $5,000 fine
  • Fine and prison time

Can I Get Even More Time for My DUI Charge?

Yes. Nevada considers DUI and hit-and-run separate crimes. DUI penalties range from hours in county jail to prison time, depending on the offense. Thus, a person will face additional time in jail or prison if they are convicted of a DUI in addition to being convicted of a felony hit-and-run.

Do I Need a Lawyer?

Facing multiple criminal charges all at one is incredibly difficult, and you will need legal representation if you want to properly defend yourself. Contact a Nevada DUI/DWI lawyer immediately to learn more about fighting your felony DUI hit-and-run charges.