Evading the police, or refusing to stop for the police, is not stop for an officer after being instructed to do so. Even if the person believes the police have no legal reason to pull them over, they have to comply of they may be guilty of committing a crime. In Nevada, a person who refuses to stop their vehicle when instructed by police may face misdemeanor or felony evading charges.

What Is the Crime of Evading in Nevada?

Evading the police on its own is a misdemeanor in Nevada. This a lesser charge because there were no aggravating factors present when the person evaded the police. A misdemeanor evading conviction may result in six months in county jail and/or $1,000 fine.

However, if a person also accused of being the proximate cause of another’s death or bodily injury while they are evading the police, then the crime of evading police becomes a felony. This is because being the proximate cause of someone else’s death or bodily injury is an aggravating factor to the crime of evading police.

What Does It Mean to Be the Proximate Cause of a Victim’s Death or Injury?

Proximate cause is a term often used in tort law, but it is vital to criminal law too. Proximate cause means that the person is the legal cause of the crime. This means that they are legally responsible for causing the crime to happen, instead of just being a pawn used by someone else to commit the crime.

What Is the Punishment for This Crime?

Being the proximate cause of another person’s bodily injury or death while evading the police is a category B felony. The punishment for this particular felony is:

  • Two to 20 years in prison
  • Up to a $50,000 fine
  • Fine and prison time

Do I Need an Attorney’s Help?

Having a Nevada criminal attorney for this type of criminal charge is vital. Thus, you should seek legal representation immediately.