Human trafficking is the act of placing a person or persons into the slave trade. To force someone, especially someone who was acquired through human trafficking, into labor is called involuntary servitude. Both crimes are illegal in Nevada.
How Does Nevada Define Involuntary Servitude?
Involuntary servitude occurs when a person knowingly subjects or attempts to subject someone to forced services or labor. According to Nevada law, a person subjects another person to involuntary solitude when they force that person to engage in labor by:
- Physically restraining or threatening to restrain the victim
- Causing or threatening physical harm to the victim
- Abusing or threatening to abuse the legal process
- Extorting the victim
- Causing or threatening to cause the victim to suffer financial trouble
- Knowingly concealing, destroying, or confiscating immigration documents, passports, or other government identification documents belonging to the person
What If the Victim Is a Minor?
If the victim is a minor, then the crime is separate. Involuntary servitude of a minor involves a person who has physical custody of a minor, allows them to reside in their residence, and knowingly:
- Forces the minor into service or labor by causing or attempting to cause serious bodily harm to the minor. The serious harm may be physical injury or sexual assault.
- Receives anything of value by forcing the minor into labor other than sexual gratification for the services rendered.
What Is the Punishment for Involuntary Servitude of an Adult in Nevada?
If the victim is an adult, then the crime is a category B felony. The punishment for a category B felony is:
- Seven to 20 years if substantial harm was done to the victim
- Five to 20 years in prison if no substantial harm
- $50,000 fine
What Is the Punishment for Involuntary Servitude of a Minor in Nevada?
If the victim is a minor, then the crime is a category A felony. The punishment for a category A felony is:
- Life in prison with the possibility of parole after 15 years of time serviced
- $50,000 fine
- Fine and prison time
Do I Need a Lawyer?
An involuntary servitude charge is an incredibly serious charge, especially if the victim is a minor. Contact a Nevada criminal lawyer immediately to determine the best way to resolve this criminal charge.